FAQ

What are your hours of operation?

What are your hours of operation?

All sites are open Tuesday – Saturday 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. Most are closed Sunday, Monday, and most major holidays. A handful of sites have Monday and Sunday hours.  They include: 

Battleship North Carolina
Fort Fisher
N. C. State Capitol
N. C. Transportation Museum
Roanoke Island Festival Park
Town Creek Indian Mound
Tryon Palace

The Home Office, located in Raleigh, is open Monday – Friday 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. 
 

Do you charge admission?

Do you charge admission?

Most sites are free to visit and tour.  A handful of sites do charge a small admission fee.  They include: 

Battleship North Carolina
CSS Neuse Civil War Interpretive Center
Historic Bath (charge for house tours only)
N. C. Transportation Museum
Thomas Wolfe Memorial
Tryon Palace
 

Can I use my metal detector at a site?

Can I use my metal detector at a site?

No. The North Carolina Archaeological Resources Protection Act prohibits a person from excavating, removing, damaging or otherwise altering or defacing an archeological resource located on state lands. The act declares that a person who violates the above provisions, or employs another person to do so, shall be fined, upon conviction, not more than $2,000 or imprisoned not more than six months, or both, for each day of continued violation. The Act authorizes the Department of Administration, in consultation with the Department of Cultural Resources, to assess a civil penalty of not more than $5,000 against any person who violates such provisions. The act directs the Department of Administration, in determining the amount of the penalty, to consider the extent of the harm caused by the violation and the cost of rectifying the damage. Directs the department to send notice by registered or certified mail of such an assessment to the person being assessed and authorizes the department to institute a civil action in the Superior Court of Wake County if the person being assessed fails to pay the assessment. The act authorizes the department to use the assessed funds to rectify the damage to archeological resources or to otherwise effectuate the purposes of this article. Finally, the act declares that all archeological resources with respect to which a criminal violation has occurred, and all vehicles and equipment used in connection with such violation, shall be subject to forfeiture to the state.

Historic Sites Use Guidelines
 

Are concealed carry weapons allowed?

Are concealed carry weapons allowed?

No. Firearms and other weapons are prohibited except those used in invited special programmatic purposes, and those with a proper permit may possess a concealed handgun in permitted areas and under the requirements of N.C. 14-415.11.  All firearms and weapons are prohibited in visitor centers, museums and historic structures.

Historic Sites Use Guidelines

Can I bring my dog with me?

Can I bring my dog with me?

Absolutely! Pets are permitted on historic sites grounds so long as they are on an attended leash no longer than 6 feet and under the constant control of the owner. Pets are not allowed in visitor centers, museums or historic structures, except for documented service animals.

Historic Sites Use Guidelines