Situated in the Piedmont region of North Carolina near the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, Ft. Dobbs provides a window into the tumultuous period of history known as the French and Indian War (1754-1763) or Seven Years War.
As the only state historic site associated with the period, it represents North Carolina's link with a global war for empire that crossed five continents, lasted nearly a decade and sowed the seeds for independence.
A full-scale reconstruction of the fortified blockhouse is open for tours as of September, 2019!
Hours and Location
Tuesday – Saturday 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Closed Sunday, Monday, and most major holidays.
438 Fort Dobbs Road
Statesville, N.C. 28625
Admission to the visitor center and grounds is free. A charge may apply for certain special events.
The reconstructed fort is open for guided tours every 45 minutes between 9:30am - 11:45am and 1:00pm - 4:00pm.
Tour admission is $2 for Adults and $1 for Children 5-12.
Group reservations must be made in advance.
A full-scale replica of the three-story log blockhouse fort is available for viewing via guided tours.
In 1940, the Daughters of the American Revolution arranged for the construction of a log cabin on the grounds of the fort. The cabin was built of 19th century logs from three existing Iredell County structures. The cabin currently houses a gift shop as well as exhibits featuring many of the artifacts found at the site and a scaled replica of the 1756 fort.
A covered shelter with picnic tables, restrooms and a small playground is located at the site.
A nature trail, approximately one-half-mile long, features native wild plants and trees. The trail is not handicapped accessible at this time.
An easily accessible parking lot is available adjacent to the site. Motorcoach parking is available. Field parking is opened for special events.
Metal Detecting / Relic Hunting: The North Carolina Archaeological Resources Protection Act prohibits a person from excavating, removing, damaging or otherwise altering or defacing an archeological resource located on state lands. The act declares that a person who violates the above provisions, or employs another person to do so, shall be fined, upon conviction, not more than $2,000or imprisoned not more than six months, or both, for each day of continued violation. The Act authorizes the Department of Administration, in consultation with the Department of Cultural Resources, to assess a civil penalty of not more than $5,000 against any person who violates such provisions. The act directs the Department of Administration, in determining the amount of the penalty, to consider the extent of the harm caused by the violation and the cost of rectifying the damage. Directs the department to send notice by registered or certified mail of such an assessment to the person being assessed and authorizes the department to institute a civil action in the Superior Court of Wake County if the person being assessed fails to pay the assessment. The act authorizes the department to use the assessed funds to rectify the damage to archeological resources or to otherwise effectuate the purposes of this article. Finally, the act declares that all archeological resources with respect to which a criminal violation has occurred, and all vehicles and equipment used in connection with such violation, shall be subject to forfeiture to the state.